ECC English instructor receives prestigious teaching award


Carole Mehle is this year’s recipient of the Keihin Endowed Faculty Chair at Edgecombe Community College.


From Contributed Reports

Friday, September 8, 2017

Carole Mehle, English/humanities instructor at Edgecombe Community College, has been awarded the 2017-18 Keihin Endowed Faculty Chair.

The chair was endowed by Keihin Carolina System Technology through a $100,000 gift in 2007, and it rewards excellence in teaching.

“Thank you so much for this wonderful honor,” Mehle said in accepting the awardy. “This award exemplifies excellence, and to even be nominated is distinction enough.”

Mehle joined the ECC faculty in 1999 and served as an adjunct instructor for two years prior to her full-time appointment in 2001.

In addition to her role as an English/Humanities instructor, she is chairwoman of the college’s Diversity and Global Connections Committee. She facilitates the biannual Global Education Symposium and edits a weekly campus email blast that raises awareness of global issues.

She is a member of the Learning Resource Center Committee and also serves as an honorary member of the college’s Phi Theta Kappa honor society.

Mehle holds a bachelor’s degree in English from the University of North Carolina-Wilmington and an master’s degree in English from East Carolina University.

The Keihin Endowed Faculty Chair is the highest distinction the college can bestow on a member of its faculty. As the Keihin chair holder, Mehle receives $2,500 and a chair with an engraved brass nameplate.

“Her peers say she keeps remarkably up-to-date on current events and popular culture, and often ties these topics to classroom assignments,” said ECC Foundation Director Karen Andrus in announcing the selection during  a recent ceremony. “Students say that she goes beyond what is required, makes the class fun and understandable, and always comes to class with a smile and enthusiasm.”

Mehle was selected by a committee of ECC personnel and KCST officials from a pool of six nominees who submitted a performance portfolio, a philosophy of teaching and an essay.

Other nominees were Sara d’Empaire, nursing instructor; Nacole Everette, health information technology chair; Ashley Reason, accounting instructor; Suzi Shippen, surgical technology chair; and Samantha Spencer, English/humanities chair.

Mehle is the eleventh Keihin Chair holder at the college. Previous recipients are instructors Jennifer Derby, 2016; Dr. Johnica Ellis-Kiser, 2015; Rebecca Stamilio-Ehret, 2014; Ann Kent, 2013; Tim King, 2012; Pam Morgan, 2011; Ralph Webb, 2010; Bruce Panneton, 2009; J.H. Koonce, 2008; and Monika Fleming, 2007.